Scribblings of a shaved monkey with a keyboard

Targets

So, as a birthday present to myself this year, I’ve set myself a daily writing target.

250 words a day. 6 days a week.

It doesn’t sound like much I know, but I set it based on a few things:

  • I’m working full time 37.5 hours/week. So, realistically I can guarantee myself about an hour a day on each workday.
  • I’m very much finding my feet with my writing, so I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself to produce say 1,000 words/day [1] so I’ve gone for a lower target.
  • I can always increase the target number as I get more comfortable with my writing.

Overall, I figure it’s a reasonable balance between having a life, and writing.

Since setting myself this target, the has only been 1 day I didn’t write 250 words – this is because I was editing sprawl run. According to my daily goal counter in FocusWriter [2] I managed -2.4% of my 250 word daily target – in reality it mean I’d removed 6 more words during the edit than I had replaced.

So yeah, I’ve got a target. It’s small[3] but something I’m confident I can hit and just that little ego boost from knowing you’ve hit a target everyday is something. Plus it’s enough to get going – last night for example, while outlining project-x15[4] and setting project js-1[5] according to the counter I’d hit something around 467% of my goal. That’s about 1200 words in about an hour of actual writing.

Something I feel proud about[6]

250words-250w

  1. Too many days of not hitting a target would not help me feel good about it
  2. A rather handy bit of software, designed to provide a distraction free writing environment
  3. But it’s better than ‘whatever’ for me
  4. Better known (currently) as “The Torture Room” – A horror story with psycho-cannibals. And apparently according to Mike, following a brief character description: Al Murray, cannibal pub landlord Sci-fi setting
  5. Which is not at all easy to do when fighting severe depression
One response

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: Why I won’t take part. | 1 Monkey, 1 Keyboard

Leave a Reply

