Scribblings of a shaved monkey with a keyboard

It’s all about perspective

So, for part of today (In between procrastinating on the Transformers Wiki* and finishing decorating the kitchen) I’ve been working on a few bits & bobs for my writing.

One of the well.. Exercises threw up a couple of interesting viewpoints and at least one of them shows a possible character in the making. That is, if I ever decide to write that kind of story.

The premise was to begin a story with a given first line. I didn’t write much, as I didn’t feel it needed it. But, as an experiment** I wrote the same scene from the other participants point of view.

Behold: (And there’s a teensy bit of profanity behind the cut)

Given first line: “Where were you last night”

“Where were you last night?”

It was an expected question; especially given the body that had been found next door. The old sod of a neighbor that was always moaning at me about one thing or another; About why I should get a ‘real’ job, or cut my hair, or do something with the yard. Or most often, cranking his TV up so loud you could hear it three houses down, let alone through these cheap, thin walls.

“Well officer” I replied “I was just next door, hacking the old fart to death with a garden fork.” I let the ghost of a smile cross my lips; I got a hard stare in response.

“Very funny sir. Now if you wouldn’t mind answering it without the comedy, we can get this cleared up and have you on your way all nice & quick”

 From the other perspective:

“Where were you last night?” I looked across the table at the scruffy-looking interviewee; ‘After all, he’s the prime suspects in this one. His neighbour dead, and a history between the two. Almost an open & shut case.’

He looked at me, a smirk playing across his features. ‘Arrogant little prick’.

“Well officer, I was just next door, hacking the old fart to death with a garden fork.”

‘Oh great, thinks he’s a fucking comedian.’ I gave him my best ‘don’t fuck with me’ glare.

“Very funny sir. Now if you wouldn’t mind answering without the comedy, we can get this cleared up and have you on your way all nice and quick.”

‘For about 10-15 depending on behaviour pal.’

 

 

* Stop looking at me like that..

** People usually worry when they hear me say that

Leave a comment